Butterflies in my Tummy!!

Something rare happened at work today..I finished up early and thought, “If I leave now, I could get a run in!!”  I instantly got butterflies in my tummy as I quickly grabbed all my stuff and headed towards the door!!!

I was home in no time flat…you know, because my commute is super short now.  I dressed, loaded up my water belt and out the door I went.  It’s a cool 85* here in Phoenix, gorgeous, bearable running weather!!

For today’s run, I laced up my old Pearl iZumi’s and my feet felt like they were home.  You know what I mean??  They felt great on my feet, like they were made for me!

Didn’t take long to get lost in my thoughts…

  • Shoes feel good, but I can definitely feel where my big toes have made indents in the shoes.
  • Walking pace is a lot faster than it was a week ago..feelin’ good.  Muscles in my left leg definitely feel less tense.
  • I bet people on the east coast would consider 85* too warm to run in and here I am, thinking this is perfect!
  • Running pace is definitely faster, but there’s that pain again.
  • The half marathon is 2 weeks from Sunday..I don’t see that I’m going to get in a long run before then.  Maybe a 10 mile walk on Sunday to prepare?
  • A 10 mile walk, are you insane??   I’d rather run and suffer than walk…
  • Okay…maybe no rehearsal run for this race and just go prepared to walk the course..
  • Interesting, when I try to focus on my form, the pain is noticeable.  When I just lose myself in the run, I don’t feel as much pain.  Wonder what that’s about?!
  • Maybe I should do some Pilates tomorrow and give my legs a nice good stretch.

I ran/walked 2.13 miles in 27:01 minutes, a 12:41 pace.  Last Wednesday, I did 1.79 miles in about 28 minutes, a 15:31 pace.  As you can see, there is vast improvement from last week!

All in all, I’d sum up the run as this!

There’s improvement and for that I am happy…but the pain is still there.  So the run gets an “eh” ranking!

After the run I immediately stretched and it really seemed to release the tension I was feeling in my left leg.   As I write this post, I am following Yo Momma‘s tips to ice my foot!

I don’t know what to make of this mysterious injury I have but I can no longer sit and do nothing.

Do you get excited to go for a run?

Any fun plans for the weekend?

Have you ever done a half marathon you weren’t prepared for?

 

5 thoughts on “Butterflies in my Tummy!!

  1. Feet in ice buckets unite! I agree that not pushing it for the race is smart. Even if you walk the whole way, you can still enjoy it an inspire others along the way.

  2. Melissa says:

    85* is hot! Lol but glad you thought it was some type of reprieve. ;) have you foam rolled? Maybe that would help in addition to icing and stretching..I think you’re being smart about your outlook on the race. And yes, I get excited for most runs..,ESP weekend runs! :) cute pic btw! :)

  3. Just found your blog, and that feet in the ice thing sounds terrible! I hope it helps. I get excited to run especially after a rest day!

Leave a Reply

