Motivated Monday 5.14.12

I wear a lot of hats – wife, mother, employee, friend, sister, doormat, whipping post, runner, cousin, niece…you get the idea. Lots of hats – one little head.  Organization is a strong suit of mine except, lately, I feel like I’m losing that battle.  The thing about organization is you have to stay on top of it and two steps ahead of it.  So today I stopped for a second, gathered my thoughts (some of which I have while running) and wrote a list!

Please note that not only do I have listed to remove Black Eyed Peas from my playlist, I have a reminder to sync!!  I am so smart!!!

What prompted me to write my list is my mom (who lives about 2,000 miles away) reminding me I needed to make an eye doctor appointment for D!  I proudly told my mom I already scheduled the appointment, to which my mom responded with the following:

Isn’t my mom clever?

To motivate me to stick to my cross training goal, I hung the class schedule for the gym right next to my future half marathon course maps so it can also serve as a reminder that I need to stay on track!

I also took a picture of the schedule with my phone so if I’m out and about, I can refer to it in the event I want to take a class..which just so happened today!

For the 2nd week in a row, I’m on the top of the Leaderboard on Daily Mile!!  Yes, I realize just me and another friend posted miles but I’m still happy I’m on the top!!

I did stop by my running store tonight because my running shoes have bothered me on the past few runs.  I love my running store because it’s small, privately owned, and the people working there are runners!  The guy that owns the place always seems to be there and he’s a hardcore runner!  He runs 100+ miles a week – I don’t even average that in a month!  I also LOVE talking to other runners because runners really love what they do.  When I took my shoes out of the box, he immediately noticed what the problem is and showed me how to relace the shoes, using the hole that is on the far outside to secure the shoe more around my ankle.  Well, what a big fat “duh” moment I had.  Wow.  But after we he figured that out, he turned my shoes upside down and asked what I use my shoes for.  I thought that was an odd question but responded with “Running! I don’t wear my running shoes for anything but running!”  He told me that was good, how not everyone does that but reiterated that running shoes should only be worn for running.  He then said that he asked because the tread on the shoes was worn down a bit and he knows I bought the shoes just a few weeks ago.  He then said, “You must do a lot of running!”  OMG!!!  I wish I could have seen my own face because I am sure it lit up like a Christmas tree.  I don’t think I’ve ever felt so reassured and confirmed as a runner until right then!  Naturally, I don’t do the amount of running he does but he said, “You still do quite a bit!”  OMG, OMG, OMG!!!! Made my day!!!  Moral of that story – the tread on your running shoes don’t lie!!!

Feeling so good about being acknowledged as a runner, I discovered I had time to make it to the ab workout class at the gym.  Whoo hoo!!!  I learned quickly in the class that  my ab is in serious need of strengthening so it’s a good thing I was there.  Even though I struggled in the class, and I’m pretty sure I won’t be able to move without intense pain tomorrow, I’m really motivated to strengthen my abs because I’m determined to see amazing changes when I run my next half marathon in September!

I’m feeling really good today and even made dinner for the family because I had achieved one of my weekly goals and meal planned!

It feels good to sit here and not have this running tally going nonstop in my head of things I “need to remember” and “can’t forget”!!

What are you motivated to accomplish this week?

2 thoughts on “Motivated Monday 5.14.12

  1. narnaboo says:

    “the tread on your running shoes don’t lie!!!”
    …ain’t that the truth!!

    I am motivated to stick with my new training plan that I started this week. I accomplished yesterday… fingers crossed I can make it through the week! Getting into the routine is definitely the hardest part for me!

  2. Agreed, establishing a routine is difficult. Did you put your training plan on your calendar like you would any other important appointment? Sometimes that really helps me with sticking to my plan. But once you have a routine established and in place, it’s so easy to follow it and the situation goes in reverse – it becomes harder to break that routine!

Leave a Reply

