Motivated Monday 5.21.12

Happy Monday!

I’d like to introduce you to my friend, Christa!  We met in 2007 on a Disney Cruise and have been friends ever since even though we live clear across the country from each other!  She’s a lot of fun with a really great outlook on life.  In the past year, Christa has lost 58 pounds!!!   Wow!!!   She’s shared her progress on Facebook and I have found it very inspiring and many times, motivating!!!

1) What have you done to lose the weight?
As simple as it sounds…you have to move more and eat less. I weigh, measure and log every ounce of  food and liquid that goes in my mouth.

Find good online support as in food trackers and weight loss forums.  I personally use SparkPeople.  The message boards are full of success stories and support from people going through the same journey.

I faithfully use the app for my phone and I find the ranges they set for my nutrition way easier to follow than a structured plan.

I just eat what I want in my set ranges. It has worked so far. Only 1.6 pounds to go until 60 pounds gone…Only 20 till goal!

2) How do you maintain your motivation?

Every week I challenge myself to reach some goal large or small.  By setting all types of goals long-term and short term..some are calorie based….some are exercise based and some are personal growth based.

I take tons of pictures (of myself) to keep me honest and to have a visual about where I never want to go back to.

I also keep a spreadsheet with my weekly  weigh in with notes about that week. It helps to see the treads over time versus just seeing the one weigh in.

3) What tips do you have for anyone wanting to get healthy and lose weight?

Listen to the experts and don’t call it a diet…you are not going to diet for the rest or your life. You have to admit to yourself that is now your life. You will never be able to not exercise for the long periods of time and you will always have to be mindful of  what you put in your mouth.

Enjoy your treats. Whether it be a beer or a Snickers bar. Enjoy it for that day and get right back on track after you have happily, and with no guilt, enjoyed your treat.  None of this “Oh, I’ll start ….Monday…next week…next month..next year” stuff!

If you had a bad calorie day on a Wednesday then Thursday you start fresh…not Monday.  You only had one day of being naughty, you didn’t do much damage…but if you go days, weeks, months or years…… One day you wake up 80 pounds overweight!! I know because it happened to me.

(Christa then..)

(Christa now!!)

Earlier this month Christa participated in a marathon relay race with some of her friends and I couldn’t have been more jealous of her bling prouder.  Although running is not her exercise of choice (she’s a Zumba girl!) I give her major props for stepping outside her comfort zone and rocking her leg of the race!

Christa, you rock!!  Thank you for sharing your story with us and I can’t wait to see your pictures when you reach “goal”!!

4 thoughts on “Motivated Monday 5.21.12

  1. Christa says:

    Way to go!! And WOW, another CHRISTA in the world, and our parents spelled it correctly! You just made my day Christa!! ❤ Christa

  2. congrats and good luck on the last pounds, Christa!

  3. Christa says:

    Thanks so much my cruise buddy!! You have been an awesome cheerleader!! and thanks to your readers for the awesome comments! 🙂

Leave a Reply

