Keeping it real…Next Week’s Goals 5.31.12

I’ve been under a lot of stress these past few weeks.  Instead of going to my weigh-in at Weight Watchers last week, I went to the fitness class at the gym. I figured the class would be more beneficial to me.  Earlier in the day, I told this girl I didn’t think the scale would reflect a change in my weight any way and then she shared this article with me about stress and how it affects weight loss.

As I moved in to a week of having a house full of family (whom I love and am so thankful they came for the graduation) and dealing with the intense stress of the life changes currently taking place in my household, I was more forgiving of myself tonight when I did go to Weight Watchers for weigh in. I didn’t try to talk myself out of going because I knew I needed to keep it real!  What I’ve been going through this past week is real and part of life.  I wasn’t completely mindful of every piece of food I put in my mouth every day this week but I also know I didn’t over indulge. Yes, I allowed myself to have that beer, that cupcake, that wonderful slice of pie.  So when the scale today showed a 1.2 weight gain, I didn’t flinch.  I nodded, told my Weight Watchers instructor about what was happening in my world right now and she told me to allow myself to feel my emotions, to live in this moment, and to go through what I’m going through.  This doesn’t mean I’m comforting myself with food, by any stretch of the imagination – because I’m not!  But right now, my thoughts are more focused elsewhere.  And that’s okay!!!

Last week’s goals:

  1. Track my food – I did not.  No excuses.  I was lazy.  Just couldn’t be bothered with it.  My mind was running in a million different directions.  It just did not happen!
  2. Do my work outs – this did happen!  I did all of my runs and attended one cross training class!
  3. Start the Runner’s World Summer Running Streak – I did!  I started Monday and have run at least one mile every day this week (so far)!

All things considered, I think meeting my exercise goals were the most important.  I think the exercise helped with my stress the most – at least more than tracking my food would have!

Now, on to next week’s goals:

  1. Track my food!!  I know I keep adding this to my list but I really want to get better about it!
  2. No alcohol on a work night!  This would be Sunday – Thursday.  This even includes no Skinny Girl Margarita.
  3. Continue RW’s Summer Running Streak and attend one cross training class.  Attending the class is the hardest because I feel like such a tool in that class.  Ladies older than me are keeping up better than I can. I want to feel more confident in that class!

My son leaves tomorrow and although I know families go through this every day/every year and this is part of life and growing up, it’s really hard. My emotions go between happy for the next step in his path to complete devastation that this person I have had by my side for the past 18 years is leaving me.  I’m thankful I found running to help me through some of the stress I have experienced over the past 2 years.  For whatever reason, running just seems to help me put things in my life in perspective.

I run when I’m happy, sad, angry, depressed, etc.  No emotion is off limits.  How about you?

What goals have you set for yourself next week?

Do you have any tips to help me conquer this food tracking laziness I seem to have?

4 thoughts on “Keeping it real…Next Week’s Goals 5.31.12

  1. Christina says:

    You are doing so awesome. I am so proud of you. You have a lot to be proud of too. Sarah will be 18 next year and in the same place as Jacob. I can barely believe it. Miss you! You sure do inspire me to keep on believing and having faith.

  2. Chellsey says:

    I wish I had a running friend here. I can’t make myself do it alone for some reason!

Leave a Reply

