Motivated Monday 6.25.12

Happy Monday!!!

With J living in Ohio and D visiting family in California, today was my first day coming home to an empty house.  SO weird!!!!  What did I do with my freedom?  Sat down and finished my homework.  After my assignments were submitted, I went for my 1 mile run.  I was finished with the evening’s “to do” list before 6 pm!!  Nice!!!

Earlier today I was struggling with the guilt of canceling my long run this weekend.  Normally if I schedule a run for myself, I complete that run.  Then I got my Daily Mile email report:

That word “Fantastic” really inspired me.  I ran 12 miles last week.  I ran every single day last week.  That is pretty fantastic!

Then I checked my monthly total:

There are 5 days left in the month, 5 days that I will run, and I’m already at 63 miles for the month!  63 miles is the most miles I have logged in a month – ever.  Not just the past 12 months but the past 22 months (my entire running career)!  63 miles!!!  That’s freakin’ awesome!!!

Running, to me, is a competition with myself.  I want to become the best runner I can be.  Not the best runner my friends or other bloggers can be – just the best runner that I can be.  I definitely love talking to other runners about their experience, training, and accomplishments and I draw inspiration from them but I don’t ever compare that to myself.  As runners, we each have our own paths and goals.  I love that about this sport!

Today – I am completely motivated by how far I’ve come and what I’ve accomplished.

How has your Monday been?

Did you run the RnR Seattle this weekend? (I think I’m adding that race to my bucket list)

What are you motivated to accomplish this week?

13 thoughts on “Motivated Monday 6.25.12

  1. Lynda@sunsweatrun says:

    Nice job with the miles! My Monday was great…no complaints 🙂

  2. runfundone says:

    What are you studying for???

  3. Wow, 63 miles. That’s awesome. I had to cancel my hill run last week because I was too busy with the cake. I also felt guilty. I decided to add hills to my long run to make up for it. Then I just got over it. I’ve spent today trying to catch up with the chores I neglected last week.

  4. Congrats on a new high for you! That’s great and your running streak is awesome…such commitment! :o) I agree that running is great because it is an individual sport. It’s inspiring to see other people’s goals/accomplishments but it’s so important to train and set your own individual goals…because everyone is different. I am very new to the blog world but it’s nice to have a place to talk about running to other like-minded people because those who don’t have a passion for it…really get their eyes glazed over when you attempt to talk about it with them, lol! My goal this week is non-running related…it’s to get through to Friday as quickly as possible because then I have 6 days off and I plan on going back to NY to visit family and friends that I have not seen in a long time! :o)

  5. ha ha ha!! I’ve seen the “glazed over” look when I talk to non-runners about running. I feel like shouting, “I’m losing you…” he he he!!!
    Have fun in NY..I’m ready for the weekend, as well!!!

  6. Erika@YouJustDidWhat says:

    Yay! 63 miles is amazing! I totally agree with you about running for yourself and not comparing yourself with others! It’s tough in blogland where there are some pretty fast awesome runners, but we are hopefully all here to inspire and motivate each other!
    My Monday was good but it also meant that our vacation ended. 😦
    Needless to say that means it’s a goal to get back into the swing of things.

  7. love your attitude about running! 🙂 congrats on all the running last week!!

Leave a Reply

