Trains in a Tutu

Sticking to D’s 5k training schedule, we made our way out around 6 pm last night.  I came downstairs to find D ready to go…and wearing her new tutu.

Now I’ve seen plenty of tutu’s on runners but normally, that’s in races.  I have to say, watching D run in her tutu was definitely entertaining!

Yesterday we did Week 1 Day 2 of Ease Into 5k.  Starting with a 5 minute warm-up walk, we then repeated the following 3 times:

  • Run 30 seconds
  • Walk 45 seconds
  • Run 45 seconds
  • Walk 60 seconds
  • Run 60 seconds
  • Walk 90 seconds

Finished with a cool down walk of 5 minutes.

It was really hot and humid out and after a long day of school, D was just not feeling the run – I’m sure many of us can relate.  You know how excited I get when the sprinklers are on?   Well…magnify that by 10 and that’s how excited D was when I gave her the instructions to run through them, twice!  When she took off for the sprinklers, I think she ran faster than she did for any other run segments.  On our 3rd round, I poured a bottle of water over her head and that helped her a lot – it also made her laugh, for whatever reason!

All in all, I think she did great!  She even managed a smile for the camera on the cool down walk home!

This morning we had our “normal while unemployed” breakfast routine.  As I walked her in to school, she insisted I could accompany her to the playground!

When the line-up bell sounded, she insisted I could line-up with the class.  And then she insisted I could walk with the class to the classroom.  And then she insisted I could come inside but I said my good-byes at the classroom door.  As I walked away, I thought I better find a job soon or she’s going to get too use to this set-up!  ha ha ha!

Do you still swing on the swings at the playground?  

Do you wear a visor or a sweatband while running?

What’s the healthiest thing you’ve eaten today?

 

 

10 thoughts on “Trains in a Tutu

  1. She’s so cute in her running tutu! She’s got the right idea — make it fun or it might kind of suck. The healthiest thing I’ve eaten today is a protein bar. Umm, that makes me want to go eat some carrots. I love to wear visors while running!

  2. Run Eat Play says:

    I love her tutu, it’s so pink! And yes, I always swing…and I go down the slides.

  3. Erika@YouJustDidWhat says:

    That is way too cute!! Uh, healthiest thing I’ve eaten today??? Of course you ask this on a day I’ve had one serving of fruit (grapes) and no veggies.

  4. How precious is she in that adorable tutu! Love it! Healthiest Thing I had was a shakeology shake…and also kashi golean. Sometimes I wear a hat when I run. Kudos for striving for “normal”..things will work out….sending positive thoughts your way! 🙂

  5. Amy says:

    I always have to stop and get on the swings and I ALWAYS run through the sprinklers! If I could be assured that I would look as cute as she does, I would absolutely train in a tutu!

Leave a Reply

