A Family That Trains Together…

With less than 5 weeks until our next 5k, K decided today was the day  he would join D and I in our training.  The last time we ran a 5k as  a family was October 2011.  We are registered to run the  Disneyland Family Fun Run 5k on Saturday, September 1st!

It is hot as H.E.Double Hockey Sticks here in Phoenix.  No question about that.

It’s monsoon season…which makes it H.E.Double Hockey Sticks and HUMID here in Phoenix.  Ugh.

So at 2 pm this afternoon, we headed out for a training run!

I would have expected all the whining and crying to come from K today but nope, it was D.  She was very vocal about her displeasure.  “The sun is turning my skin orange.  It’s so hot out here.  Why are you pushing me?  I hate Phoenix!”  I continued to hand her water bottles, pour water on her head and neck but when she saw that the sprinklers were not on at the park…she was furious!  I reassured her we did not need to go fast, we did not need to push it, and we just needed to get it done.  K and I bribed her with promises of a splash in the pool when we were finished with our training session.

Multiple times during our training I had to distract D with conversations about how wonderful and refreshing it will feel to run in California.  I had to tell her to think of places that were cooler, like the beach.  That did seem to help!

Finally, on the cool down walk home, the whining and complaining ceased–a little!

Hey, K, I thought I was the one supposed to be running in the bike lane?!

D was in no mood to pose for my photos!

 

Once home, I insisted we pose for a family photo.  D refused but K convinced her to humor me!

 

A family that trains together…finishes races together…right?!

Have you had a good weekend?

When was the last time you ran a 5k?

How is the weather where you are?

 

10 thoughts on “A Family That Trains Together…

  1. Bean says:

    Nice family run! Good job everyone! Power to you for heading out in this weather:)

  2. Lol aww she’s too cute w her red cheeks. I’ve actually never done a 5k. I hope u girls have a great race when it’s here. Nice family pic! We’re watching the games now. 🙂 have a great night!

  3. Run Eat Play says:

    Great job on the family run! It’s hot here in Illinois and I am such a baby in the heat!

    I run lots of 5k. I ran one a few weeks ago and have one coming up it September. My tight calves don’t like running much farther.

  4. Love the family photo! And the running path looks exactly like what I ran at Arizona IMS marathon. I guess it is in the same town!:) great job getting your whole family out there.

  5. runfundone says:

    Oh man, I remember running in Phoenix in July two years ago. It was unpleasant! I feel their pain!

Leave a Reply

