M.I.A.

Last night, D, K and I went out for another training run.  K said his legs were super sore from Sunday’s run and I realized we failed to do what you really should do after a run – stretch!  Whoops.  We’ll chalk that up as a “fail” for this impostor “Running Coach”.

Our run went very well.  The weather was nice..for Phoenix in July.  We did Week 2 Day 2 of the Ease Into 5k, the routine consisted of a 5 minute warm up walk and then:

  • Run 45 seconds
  • Walk 60 seconds
  • Run 60 seconds
  • Walk 90 seconds
  • Run 90 seconds
  • Walk 2 minutes

We repeated that 3 times and finished with a 5 minute cool down walk.  We completed 2.21 miles in 33:54 minutes, a 15:20 pace. D did much better this run – no crying or whining.  She actually seemed pretty happy!  K was very quiet but he’s a trooper, running nonstop for 90 seconds is no joke and he did excellent.  Very proud of both of them.

For the Disneyland Family Fun Run 5k we must maintain a 16 minute per mile pace or we risk being swept.  I think we’ll be fine but I may have to sit down with D and determine which characters along the route she will insist on posing for pictures with and which ones we can skip.  I think I know her pretty well and can guess that Buzz Lightyear and Woody will be a  “must do”!

These were taken in 2008 and she’s still a huge, huge fan.  In fact, when I ran the Tinker Bell half marathon with M in January, Buzz and Woody were the only characters I said I would stop for!

After we were home from our run, I lead the team in some stretching moves.  It cracked me up to stand in front of them and lead them like we were in a class or something.

I’ve been absent from blog writing and reading mostly because I suck and have become so consumed in my stress.  I know that sounds awful but it’s the truth.  I don’t want this blog to turn in to my whining about being unemployed, that’s boring and unproductive!  I haven’t kept to my personal running schedule but I have managed to stick to the 1 mile per day challenge.

After I dropped D off at school this morning I dreaded going home to sit and be alone with my thoughts for hours on end.  I decided to swing by Starbucks.  I ordered a coffee and just sat in the shop for an hour listening to the hustle and bustle of people.

I bet people thought I was crazy for taking a picture of these flowers but daisies are my favorite and I thought they were pretty!

Even if they are fake!

Starbucks was a great distraction from being alone in my head – which is absolutely dangerous at this junction.  I’ve determined that’s also probably why I’m not motivated to do my longer runs – I don’t want to be alone with my thoughts right now.  I do need to force myself to get back out there and run my longer distances because my next half marathon is in 1 month.  *Gulp!*

Who is your favorite Disney character?

Are you running the Disneyland half marathon this year?

Are you drinking your recommended daily water?  (I’m not…need to get back on that!)

14 thoughts on “M.I.A.

  1. Melissa says:

    I’ve been thinking about you Jac! We’re also your support system so if you need/want to talk about your thoughts other than running/”happy” things…go ahead…I/we’re great listeners, errr, readers, lol…and hopefully can help support you, encourage you, give ideas during this transition time for you. Congratulations on continuing the streak…it really is awesome and glad you all had a successful training session. FYI, I love hanging out at Starbucks…the atmosphere, coffee, people watching…I go there all the time, lol. ::Virtual hug::

  2. Good luck in the job hunt. It really stinks, and I think all of us in blog land can commiserate with any whining you put out there. We’ve all been there! I’m praying of you.

    Maybe for the long runs you could download some podcasts or books. I’ve been thinking of doing that because I’m getting tired of my playlist. That way you get out of your head but get in the miles.

    • :-). You guys are so awesome. I’ll whine and try to keep it to a min…I do have so much to be thankful for and I am so blessed! 😉

      I did think about downloading a book on my iPod and run to that. I wonder if I could still maintain a good pace?! Hmm. Might have to look through iTunes tonight and figure something out.

  3. Erika@YouJustDidWhat says:

    Are you doing the Disneyland Half?

    Jessie is my FAVORITE character. I think I own almost everything Jessie. I wanted to stop for her during the Tinkerbell but she was at mile 12 (?) and I was so tired I just wanted to finish!!
    Yeah, still suck with the water and stretching for that matter…ugh!

  4. I am doing the Disneyland half.
    D loves Jessie, too. I did see Jessie at the race but she took off before we got up to the front of the line.

  5. Amy says:

    Go Coach Jac!

    Princess Jasmine and Belle are my favorites. And Piglet. And the three fairies. And Wall-E. Um… can they all be my favorites?

    And I think I’m echoing everyone when I say that it is ok for you to whine and complain all you want! You were put in a bad situation, and it is hard to be positive, or, like you said, even think too much about things.

Leave a Reply

