Dear Diary..

Yesterday, thanks to you lovely readers, I felt inspired to go for my “normal Wednesday” run.  Even though it was super hot outside, at 6 p.m., it felt so good to do my run!  Now the trick will be getting up early tomorrow morning to do my 45 minute Friday run.  And even trickier on Saturday to get up and do my 8 mile run.  But let’s take this one day at a time, shall we?

This morning, after I dropped D off at school and was showered with good-bye hugs and kisses, I made my way to Starbucks.  I decided that since I felt so much better yesterday morning, after my hour long Starbucks visit, I should go ahead and do that again today.  No, I should not be spending money on frivolous things like coffee.  Except, I decided I’m not going to look at it as spending $2.78 on coffee, instead, I spent $2.78 on my mental health!  That 1 hour at Starbucks yesterday somehow motivated me to come home and take care of some stuff I’ve seriously neglected.  I blogged, applied for some jobs, did some laundry, started dinner, did homework with D, finished preparing dinner, and got my run done.  I’d say $2.78 was worth it!

Today I went to Starbucks with my journal.

 

Yes, I’m a grown woman with a cartoon character on my journal.  It’s what makes me…me!

Prior to today, my last attempt to write in my journal was May 12, 2012.  All that I wrote on that date was..the date.  Nice work!  So I had a lot of catching up to do.  A lot has happened this summer: J graduated and moved to Ohio, D went on her first solo trip, I lost my job…

I’ve been journaling (new word, I just made it up) consistently since January 1, 1994.  It has always been an outlet for me, much like running has become. It is a way to make sense of the world happening around me.  Or a way to vent without burdening another person.  Here are some good reasons for keeping a journal:

  • Clarify your thoughts and feelings. Do you ever seem all jumbled up inside, unsure of what you want or feel? Taking a few minutes to jot down your thoughts and emotions (no editing!) will quickly get you in touch with your internal world.
  • Know yourself better. By writing routinely you will get to know what makes you feel happy and confident. You will also become clear about situations and people who are toxic for you — important information for your emotional well-being.
  • Reduce stress. Writing about anger, sadness and other painful emotions helps to release the intensity of these feelings. By doing so you will feel calmer and better able to stay in the present.
  • Solve problems more effectively. Typically we problem solve from a left-brained, analytical perspective. But sometimes the answer can only be found by engaging right-brained creativity and intuition. Writing unlocks these other capabilities, and affords the opportunity for unexpected solutions to seemingly unsolvable problems.
  • Resolve disagreements with others. Writing about misunderstandings rather than stewing over them will help you to understand another’s point of view. And you just may come up with a sensible resolution to the conflict

Source

It’s also nice for having my journals for historical purposes.  There have been times I’ve had to refer to my journal to determine when a certain event took place.  There have also been times where I’ve read through past journals and learned of my own growth and development.

I can write in my journal what I cannot say out loud and that is so freeing because it gets the words out of my head and clears my mind.

I wrote 10 pages today…man, I had a LOT to get out of my head.  And I feel SO much better now that the words are out of my head and in my journal!  It’s important to remember that mental health is just as important as physical health!

BTW, just so you know, I don’t start my journal entries with “Dear Diary…” that would be way sillier than being a 37 year old woman showing up to Starbucks with a journal that has Jessie from Toy Story on the cover!

Oh!  One last thing.  Since it’s “weigh in Thursday”.  Today’s weight was 173.2  I lost .6 from last week but I’ll take it!

Do you keep a journal?

What do you order at Starbucks/the coffee shop?

10 thoughts on “Dear Diary..

  1. Run Eat Play says:

    I think losing any weight it good, even .6 of a pound! Good job!
    I don’t keep a journal, but I like to write. I figure my blog is kind of like my “journal!”

  2. Melissa says:

    Yay for getting your run in!!! I’m so glad that journaling is helping you…and dang, 10 pages is a lot, lol! Sounds like you’re in a better place today. 🙂 At Starbucks I order the dark roast if just coffee but specialty coffees I order a Double Tall Skinny Mocha or a Double Tall Skinny Vanilla Latte…I was going to cut out all artificial sweeteners but I decided that if I want a freaking skinny latte every now and then, I’m going to order it! Hehe. 🙂

  3. That’s great that you’re journaling! I kept one with every pregnancy, but I am a pretty big slacker these days. And blogs don’t count because I can’t put all of my craziest thoughts up there!:) great job getting your run in! Especially at night. Usually when I wait until the end of the day, it’s so hard to pull my butt off the couch.

  4. Melissa says:

    Hey sweetness. I wanted to let you know that I nominated you for the beautiful blogger award. The details are on my blog. 🙂

  5. I think that’s awesome you keep a journal!! I do find it funny you cannot track food but can track your thoughts 🙂 The reason I find it funny is I can track food but have never been good with the journal. As a kid I would get one (as friends and people in books/TV shows would have them) and I would try to write and I’d do one day…the never do it again! I did this multiple times..even as an adult. haha!

Leave a Reply

