After 90 Days the Streak Comes to an End

After my run yesterday, I was pretty sore.  I also noticed I had some pain near my groin and hamstring.

This morning, the pain is still there.  So much so I’m completely taped up for the areas I’m feeling pain.

(I love KT Tape and I swear by it.  I keep myself in full stock of it.)

D and K need to do a training run for this Saturday’s Disneyland Family Fun Run 5k and I have decided they’ll be doing the training alone.  My running streak is over.  I think runners can run through soreness but I don’t think they should ever run through pain.  Every time I go from a sitting to standing position, I feel nothing but pain shooting down my left leg.

So, ladies and gentlemen, this concludes Jac’s Runner’s World Summer Running Streak.  I had a solid 90 days, much more than I ever imagined I’d be able to do.  If the pain goes away, I may return to the (at least) 1 mile per day tomorrow.  For today, I’m going to rest, ice, tape and stretch.

Surprisingly, I’m not devastated about the end of my streak.  I think it’s more important I rest than to risk not being able to fully participate in next week’s races.

Do you use KT Tape?

Do you run through legitimate physical pain?

How’s your Sunday going?

 

10 thoughts on “After 90 Days the Streak Comes to an End

  1. Melissa says:

    Congrats on going 90 days!..that’s incredible!! But you made the right move…pain and soreness shoud treated differently and you want to be good to go for he 1/2. 🙂 haven’t used that tape but if I ever need to I should try that brand! Get some rest girl…you deserve it and I’m proud of you for thinking about your health first!

  2. Bean says:

    Sorry you are in pain:(. 90 days is pretty freakin awesome! Way to be a total bada**. Rest up so you can dominate Disney:)

  3. I’m so sorry you’re in pain! Sending good vibes your way and hoping that your body heals up in time for the race.

  4. Run Eat Play says:

    I agree that you shouldn’t run though pain! It will just makes things worse – I’ve found that that out the hard way!
    Hope you feel better soon!!

  5. Wow, 90 days of running. That’s awesome. There is no way I could have done it. I have run through pain and it sucked. I try to rest when I’m in pain. I hope you feel better soon.

Leave a Reply

