Sunsets and Tens Units

Remember how I bought new running kicks on Tuesday with plans to run on Wednesday?

I had rested my injury for 2 full weeks post half marathon as instructed by the chiropractor!

Wednesday morning, I woke up and my leg was sore.  WTH?!  I have done ZERO exercise and only ran on Tuesday long enough to test out 3 pairs of shoes.  I ran for, what, 2 minutes?!

Fast forward to Friday and the leg is still sore.  I went back to my chiropractor tonight and she told me that when you injure the smaller tendons and muscles, it can take awhile to heal.  How long?  6-8 weeks!!!!!!!!  You can imagine my facial expressions but she quickly assured me that doesn’t mean I have to stop running.

She hooked me up to the tens unit with a heavy focus on my left buttocks and hamstring.  Gotta admit…it felt good!

Final verdict…less soreness in my leg after 15 minutes on the tens unit and an adjustment.  Doctor’s orders – I can jog 1/2 a mile a day.  I told her I don’t even have to dress in my running clothes for that – I can just do that in my stupid jeans!

My chiropractor said us runners are funny people and when we’re told we can’t run we have very obvious reactions to it.   Imagine that!

At least there was this amazing sunset to greet me as I left the doctor’s office!

Of course, I’d much rather be running while seeing this amazing sunset!

My next half marathon in November 4th.  My chiro said I should consider buying a tens unit so I can hook it up to myself after some of my harder runs.  SERIOUSLY considering that.

Do you have a tens unit?

Do you think I should try the half mile a day?  Do you see any benefit in that at all?

Got any fun plans this weekend?

 

4 thoughts on “Sunsets and Tens Units

  1. Bean says:

    ugh sorry you are not better yet. I love how we runners act like the sky is falling when we are injured. Which it totally is. World just comes crashing down. But better to heal up now than drag an injury out over the long run.

  2. That’s a bummer. I hope you feel better soon. I agree, we are dramatic when it comes to not being able to run. We are even more dramatic when we have a race coming up.

Leave a Reply

